8/17/2015
5

Service done: 2008 BMW E60 528i I checked out Performance Autowerk after reviewing their 5 stars ratings from Yelp's review, and came to Evan for an emergency service on my BMW with coolant leaks. My coolant lost was about a quart of coolant each week without any trace of leakage anywhere on the bottom of the car. Because there are no traces of fluid on the floor, I kept insisting to Evan when I first brought my car in that the leakage was possibly due the valve gasket leak... or perhaps the coolant might get into the engine oil. Within just 10 seconds of arriving at his shop and inspecting my car, Evan was able to determine the root cause of the leak. It actually came from the lower section of the radiator. However, there was no fluid on the ground due the catch tray which captured all the fluid. That's just how amazingly knowledgeable Evan is when it comes to German cars! He saves me a tons of money which I know I will pay if taking my car to the dealership. This place is build upon the following statements: integrity, quality, passion of German engineering, honesty, attention to details and friendly service. Despite all the hard work and his hectic schedules, Evan was able to check my car in as soon as I called and service was done within the same day (replacing the radiator and all hoses...almost all the front end coolant related part are placed brand new within the same day). WOW! Not to mention his pricing is absolutely reasonable. I can only sum up my experience at Performance Autowerk as %110 satisfied. The crew here are very friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable with German cars. He takes pride out of each and every vehicle he services, and it shows through his super clean, well-kept shop. Each and every one of his crews is friendly and respectful. I now no longer have to deal with those "consultants" at the East Bay Dealership who would give me a run around. I normally change oil and service my own brakes and other minor jobs non related to engine for all of my cars. This is not because I can't afford to bring it out for service, but because I hate the sloppiness of the work done at the dealers, and have not trusted any of the shop around here....but after coming to Performance Autowerk , it completely changed my perspective and I now found a place that I can completely have confident that they will pamper my car the way I wanted. Evan is truly a gift and a breath of fresh air to our East Bay German Car enthusiast community. He really deserves all the 5 stars in Yelp!

8/17/2015
5

Read the other reviews. Look at the stars. Then find out for yourself and then add your 5 star review.

8/11/2015
5

I came by this place looking around in yelp for a mechanic to do a pre purchase checkup. Matt and Evan(Owner) were so nice and made sure to check literally everything there is to check. I have been before to mechanics to do the same checkup and these guys are day and night different than any place I had my vehicle worked on. They were super nice and super helpful with all my questions and concerns. I had to do some fixes to the car and just got it back today. They fixed it in the best possible manner and not only that they gave me a very comfortable and honest price, they went well and beyond of the scope of work just to provide the best possible service a person could ask for. From the small things like changing all the burnt fuses and light bulbs, to fixing my headlights and so on without asking any extra charge. I live in the berkely area it would have been easy for me to find someone local but these guys are worth every mile! I truly recommend this place, If you are looking for honest and super friendly guys to do work on your vehicle than that is the place to go!! Big props to Evan and Matt for the excellent work. You guys rock!

8/11/2015
5

I came by this place looking around in yelp for a mechanic to do a pre purchase checkup. Matt and Evan(Owner) were so nice and made sure to check literally everything there is to check. I have been before to mechanics to do the same checkup and these guys are day and night different than any place I had my vehicle worked on. They were super nice and super helpful with all my questions and concerns. I had to do some fixes to the car and just got it back today. They fixed it in the best possible manner and not only that they gave me a very comfortable and honest price, they went well and beyond of the scope of work just to provide the best possible service a person could ask for. From the small things like changing all the burnt fuses and light bulbs, to fixing my headlights and so on without asking any extra charge. I live in the berkely area it would have been easy for me to find someone local but these guys are worth every mile! I truly recommend this place, If you are looking for honest and super friendly guys to do work on your vehicle than that is the place to go!! Big props to Evan and Matt for the excellent work. You guys rock!

8/5/2015
5

I initially called with an inquiry about getting an oil change and transmission fluid service on my 2010 VW GTI with DSG. Evan immediately knew what I was talking about and gave an estimate that was reasonable for the work. I was relieved to hear someone on the other side of the phone who did not need me to explain what a DSG was or caused me to worry whether the right spec fluid/filter would be used. It was clear this was a familiar service. The car was out for a day and the bill was on target with the estimate with no fuss or surprises. This is actually the first time I've written a review on Yelp - and it's for a deserving business. It's an absolute pleasure to work with Evan and entrust him with my vehicle. He's professional yet friendly and is truly passionate about cars and performance vehicles. I spent more time dropping off and picking up my car than I had planned, because it was so fun to talk shop with him and I lost track of time. I will definitely be looking to return if I need maintenance on, repairs, or modifications to any car whose performance I care about.

7/23/2015
5

They do a great job and they don't over charge.

7/22/2015
5

Thank you Performance Autowerks!! Your shop is a pleasure to work with and your work is top notch! Thank you for the brake job and the oil change. You have a new life-long customer!

7/17/2015
5

Bought my first BMW a while back, a 1996 Z3, and wanted to finally take it to someone for an initial inspection and oil change with the intent of starting a long-term relationship with the shop. Called Performance Autowerk, spoke to Evan, and he said he had time to squeeze me in that same day. He completed the work right away (as promised) and pointed out all the things that needed consideration for next time. For each of the things that need work, he showed me the problems and explained everything in plain English. Just listening to him gave me the impression that he was extremely knowledgeable and competent. You might find a less expensive shop, but I don't think you will find a better, more honest service... and as far as I'm concerned, QUALITY and HONESTY are PRICELESS!

7/1/2015
5

Took my BMW 530i here for a minor inspection based on Yelp reviews. Evan Brown the Owner, was by far the most knowledgable mechanic I have ever met. Not to mention he was very honest and didn't just try to just tell me "what needs to be fixed". I highly recommend Performance and will only take my vehicles here going forward. Thank you Yelp!

5/19/2015
5

The work: Front tire allignment and tires put on. car:2007 e350Had to get the wheels aligned and had a few bad services with my current mechanic, so i yelped around to see if i could find a new spot. Found Performance autowerk and Evan was amazing. He definitely was very knowledgeable about working on European cars and very open to sharing his knowledge with the customers. Might have just found our new mechanic for the family. Good Work Performance Autowerk.

If You Are Using A Screen Reader And Are Having Problems Using This Website, please call Performance Autowerk (925) 551-0154 For Assistance.